Let’s be real.

My entire motive for starting this blog was to make people laugh. Being able to laugh at the frustrations, the messes and the grossness of parenting is what gets me through most days.  This past week I’ve dealt with little girl – nobody likes me – so and so is bossy drama. There have been 1 am calls of eyes-wide-open, screaming night terrors.  Now as I make notes for this post at 2 am I’ve been trying to pinpoint WTF is making my baby scream, twist and flail inconsolably for the past hour.  Seriously, this shit isn’t funny.  This sucks.

Somehow though, in between thrashing and head-butting I find myself pressing my nose against the softest baby cheek and smelling her sweet skin. Soon I’ll head back to the 4 inches of my bed I get for myself and I’ll hold a peacefully sleeping little boy.  In the morning I will kiss my big girl goodbye when she heads to school and I’ll tell her to have a good day.  And I’ll mean it.  A good day where she smiles with friends and doesn’t sit alone at lunch.

This whole blogging thing is still new to me.  Some days I wonder why anyone would even want to read what I have to say.  You’re all living the same life as me anyway, you know how this goes.  I categorized my blog as ‘humor’ when I set it up.  For days I tried to figure out what clever, hilarious thing I could write about and came up with nada.  Then I remembered the big  promise I made was to keep this blog real. The reality is, some days aren’t funny, some days I cry more than I laugh.  The beauty of it is, I come out of it.  We all do.  The dogs eating poop and kids leaving the house without underwear will have us all cracking up again soon, because that is our reality.

kids fort

One thought on “Let’s be real.

Leave a Reply

